Kagawaran ng Turismo


PST:  8:36:19

Local News


The Department of Tourism (DOT) Region 13 has assisted 1,044 foreign tourists stranded in the Caraga region in the wake of travel restrictions and flight cancellations triggered by the enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) amid the COVID-19 epidemic crisis.

The DOT Region 13's 24-7 Online Assistance Team closely coordinated with the local government units (LGUs) to locate through phone, email and social media the distressed tourists and facilitate their evacuation under ECQ conditions.

Caraga localities include Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur, Surigao City, Butuan City, and Siargao Island.

In coordination with the Civil Aviation Authority of the Philippines (CAAP), at least 416 stranded tourists signed up and availed of the five sweeper flights from Sayac Airport in Siargao Island to Clark International Airport for their flight to their home countries or for P2P bus trips to the Ninoy Aquino International Airport (NAIA) for their onward flights abroad.